【S】Anxiety & Excitement of a Recent Graduate

As most of my friends and I have graduated or are graduating, I have realized that the center of our conversation during our regular “catch-up dates” has shifted from gossips and boys to our future plan. 

“So what are you doing after graduation?” I don’t remember how many times I have asked or been asked this question, and I have to say, this question can be a little daunting for people who don’t have plans yet. Many of us don’t have the answer to this question yet, and for some of us that do have jobs/internships/other plans, we still doubt whether or not this is the right path to follow sometimes…Though the fact that we are becoming “real, independent adults” is exciting, it’s also a little scary thinking that whatever we are doing now could really impact what our future looks like.


At least for me, my life has been pretty smooth so far- we always knew we’d go to a good high school, and then apply to a good university. Though we all go to different schools and all that, I would say so far most of the people I know and I have a somewhat similar path, in the sense that we all have been in school for 15 years or so. 

And now what? All of the sudden it’s a whole different world, and the options we have are endless. It’s easy to say “follow your passion, follow your heart”, but reality isn’t always ideal for everyone, and we all have different obligations to fulfill. Unlike before, I honestly have no clue where I will end up in…3 years even. Sometimes, I feel like this is the perfect time to explore and do all the crazy things we might not be able to do in 5 years, but at the same time, I worry that if I waste my golden time now, it might be too late to think “I should have done that instead” when I look back in a few years.  

With all these thoughts in me, “The Defining Decade: Why your twenties matter and how to make the most of them now” by Meg Jay seemed like the right book for me to read. And before I can come up with my own philosophies, I think there are quite a few helpful suggestions that could benefit all of us or remind us what we should be doing now. 

I will be sharing my notes from this book here in a few days. In the meantime, I’d love to hear about what your thoughts are! 🙂

Sharon. ❤

4 thoughts on “【S】Anxiety & Excitement of a Recent Graduate

  1. I think throughout life we will go through these cycles of uncertainty. Of course, with these tumultuous times of global economic recession and increase in hyperconnectivity to the world, the uncertainty is one that does not match our parents or even people who graduated 5 years ago. I am sure you will find your path. It’s funny how so many things seem to fall into place over time. You’ll rediscover old connections and create new ones that might lead you to the way you want to live your life.

    In other words, you’ll do great. Just breathe. :]

  2. 非常同意這一段時間真的令人很憂心 沒有明確的未來讓喜歡事事計畫完備的妳很不安 建議妳從現在少思考吧 多行動 做任何事都可以!起而行 把自己暫時放下 讀書運動跳舞都行 真的 這段時間也像其他時間一樣 瞬間即過 隨風而逝

  3. Pingback: 【S】Why your twenties matter and how to make the most of them now | Pair’adise / sharon&nora's交換日記♥

Leave a Reply

