【N】慕尼黑 Munich & 騎士秀 Kaltenberger Ritterturnier (1/2)

Dear Sharon,

I’m super excited to share my weekend stories with you! As you know, my friend from college (Gem) came to visit last weekend, so it was really eventful and a lot of fun. I’ll briefly tell you about the city…but more importantly I want to tell you everything about Kaltenberger Ritterturnier–the world’s largest knights tournament!

This was probably the fourth time I went to Marienplatz, I mean, I got to show her the city center right? 😉 Oh and I actually drove there last Thursday to run some errands for Dad…long story short, I’m never driving to Munich city again! Lol.

So this is Marienplatz, full of tourists obviously…and that building in Gothic Revival Architecture style is Neues Rathaus (New Town Hall/新市政廳), and that’s also where the tourist information center is. During the summer, the chime up top (called Rathaus-Glockenspiel) is performed by an apparatus at 11 AM, 12 PM, and 5 PM everyday, and it lasts for a good 10 or 15 minutes. There are two stories, the top half is some royal wedding, and the bottom half is “Schafflertanz”, a traditional dance in Munich…(Picture below)


We basically spent the whole evening walking around Marienplatz, we went to see Frauenkirche 聖母教堂 (if you can spot the green “onion-shape” towers in the first picture…that is it), walked to the Residenz area, and window-shopped by Maximilian Street. And for dinner we went to Hofbrauhaus 皇家啤酒屋! That was probably the highlight of my day, I just loved the vibe there, super lively and happy ❤ ! Hofbrauhaus was founded in 1589 and still is the biggest brewery in the world, there was also live band performance playing Bavarian traditional music. 😀 Guess what we ordered? Schweinehaxe 德國豬腳 (both crispy one and water boiled one), Weiss wurst 白香腸 (Munich’s specialty!), Bavarian kraut, Obatzda (Bavarian cheese), and Munich’s white beer! Can we get any more German? 😉

Hehe ❤ Also, Gem’s friend’s friend Sophie came to join us for dinner, so I guess that means I met a new friend! 😀

Later in the night, we went to 089 BAR, recommended by Gem’s friend. The people I met in Munich have all been very friendly so far…and speak great English 🙂 Please read on for part 2… Here is a picture for you! Tschüss (Bye in German)!! 😉

Lots of love, Nora

3 thoughts on “【N】慕尼黑 Munich & 騎士秀 Kaltenberger Ritterturnier (1/2)

Leave a Reply

