【S】Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

HAPPY SUNDAY!!!! =)))))

First of all, I know I’ve abandoned this blog for too long. It’s been more than a month since either of us wrote.

I guess too much has happened in the past one month, and both of us have been busy with work…but now I finally feel like I have my life back on track, and have so many new and exciting plans (which I shared with Nora on Skype today)! More on this later. 😉

But today, I want to finish my post on Lean In (as promised in my last post). Since Nora has started this book recently, I thought I’d share some of my favorite takeaways. It may not be super organized as they are just my personal notes, but if you like what you’re seeing in this post, I would strongly recommend you to read through it. 🙂 Of course, if there are any points that you find interesting but need clarification, feel free to ask me more. 🙂

Career Opportunities

  • Biggest mistake: saying no to a lot of opportunities because “I don’t have that experience”, “that’s not what my degree is in”.
  • At certain point, it’s your ability to learn quickly and contribute quickly that matters.
  • There’s no perfect fit when you’re looking for the next big thing to do. You have to take opportunities and make an opportunity to fit for you.
  • Only one criterion matters when picking a job: FAST GROWTH.
  • “Potential growth”!
  • Accept uncertainty, and even embrace it. Take risk, embrace risk.
  • Don’t focus too much on “career level” (esp when switching career)- you will get there. It’s more important to do what you want and love! And care about potential growth.
  • Many abilities are learned on the job! You don’t need 100% criteria listed when you apply!
  • Taking risk, choosing growth, challenging ourselves, and asking for promotions (with smile on our faces)->important elements of managing a career.
  • WOMEN: Don’t enter the workforce already looking for an exit. Don’t look for a brake- accelerate. Put your foot on the gas pedal until the decision must be made. That’s the only way to make sure that when the day comes, there will be a ‘real’ decision to make.

Leadership

  • Taking initiatives pay off. It’s hard to visualize someone as a leader if she’s always waiting to be told what to do.
  • The ability to learn is the most important quality a leader can have.
  • Seeking out diverse experience is useful experience for leadership. Staying in the same function and company may cause inertia.
  • Alice Walker: “The most common way people give up their power is by thinking that they don’t have any. Do not wait for power to be offered.
  • Sense of humor is the phrase that is most frequently used to describe an effective leader.
  • Leadership is about making others better as a result of your presence. And making sure that impact last in your absence.

Negotiation

  • Men negotiate more! Negotiate for higher offer!
  • Think personally, act communally.
  • Whenever possible, substitute WE for I- it’s better received.
  • Provide a legitimate explanation for negotiation. Justify your request.
  • E.g., Suggest that someone more senior encourage the negotiation-my manager suggested I talked with you about my compensation.
  • Or cite industry standard- to my understanding…compensation range…
  • Emphasizing larger goal, and approaching negotiation as solving a problem. Showing care for common good. Communal effort.
  • Be nice, express loyalty, smile when you negotiate.

Misc.

  • A good question to ask In interview: “What’s your biggest problem, and how can I solve it?”
  • Adopting two concurring goals: 1. A long term dream. 2. an 18 month plan
  • Performance and Potential. <-mentors decide mentees based on these.
  • Always with an interesting point or a thoughtful question. Don’t just ask your mentor to “catch up” or ask a question that you could have found an answer on your own.

I’ll definitely try to keep her tips in mind now that I’ve already had a great start of my career life. 🙂 What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “【S】Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

  1. 妹妹果然聽得仔細!所有我們所知道的、所認同的,都請內化到我們的思想裡;有一天,如果碰到重要抉擇,又有幸能有時間思考時,我們不至於搖擺不定,無所依循啊。

  2. One of my biggest takeaways is to be confident…You have to believe in yourself first and make the move for new opportunities/challenges, and don’t be afraid to ask for what you deserve 🙂

    And I guess it really inspired me that it IS possible to have a family AND a career~ Fighting!!!!!

Leave a Reply

