【S】Home, after 5 years | Taiwan, March 2017

Where do I even begin? I know I tend to say this after every trip, but my recent trip back to Taiwan was truly one of the best. Maybe there wasn’t the excitement of seeing the panoramic volcanic view in Santorini, being surrounded by fairy-tale castles in Prague, or sipping (chugging?) mezcal on a beach in Tulum, this trip left me feeling more centered – I might even say, it helped clarify some questions I’ve been pondering on and is guiding me towards a direction I want to go for my near future.

Sounds unreal? I would argue that’s the power of being “home”. As a TCK (Third Culture Kid, a term used to refer to people raised in a culture other than their parents’ for a significant part of their life) who has lived in various countries and attended schools with people from 50+ different countries, for the longest time I have come to accept that “where are you from” is not an easy question to answer and that I won’t feel 100% fit-in in any culture. Although this sentiment still rings true (for which I feel grateful for and it has hugely shaped who I am today), I can confidently say that I feel much closer to and proud of my Taiwanese heritage. After all, this is where I was born and spent all my childhood years in.

My hopes and dreams for the future as a kindergarten graduate (on slide 3) is seriously everything. 😂 May I always find simple happiness and be fearlessly confident👻… And thank you Nora, for always being by my side. 👯🎂🎉🎈. . "I hope I will remember my teachers and classmates. I want to be "elevator lady". (Pretty ladies who greet and help press floor buttons in elevators in department stores…very ambitious, I know. And yes, that's a profession in Taiwan.) I hope I can be as beautiful as now when I grow up. I hope I will be lively and cute forever. I hope I can be teacher. I don't want to be sick ever. And I hope I won't get married and won't grow up!" . . #26 #birthdaywishes #yearbook #downthememorylane #childhooddream

A post shared by sharon lin (@sharonyhlin) on

Anyways, I guess I can go on and on about how touched or enlightened I’ve felt on this trip, but for the most part, this trip was so endearing because I got to visit places I frequented as a kid, eat food that brought back my childhood memories, and look through piles of albums that mom neatly created and organized throughout the years.

At the same time, prior to the trip I did a fair amount of research so we also got to explore new places that have recently gotten popular among young adults. This combination has proven to be the magic formula of making this trip so exciting and memorable!

For the next few posts, I will aim to do less rambling (as hard as it is to not be emotional thinking about this trip…there’s just so much to say!), and focus on listing out our main itineraries. It will primarily be broken down as follows, and I will hyperlink them as I publish each post.

The goal is to provide tips and guides to people who’re 1) interested in visiting and learning about Taiwan, 2) only have a few days to explore, and 3) want to experience life as a local instead of simply hitting the “typical tourist spots”. 

  • Taipei
    • Day 1
    • Day 2
    • Day 3
    • Tea culture in Taiwan: farm, cafe, food, musuem…etc!
    • Highlights (incl. things that are not mentioned in Day 1 – 3, as I had more than 3 days in Taipei this time)
  • Tainan
    • Day 1
    • Day 2
    • Day 3
    • Old House B&B
    • Highlights

I have so much to rave about Taiwan, and I’m so excited to share more of my trip. In the meantime, if you have any specific questions/requests, please feel free to leave a comment below.

Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “【S】Home, after 5 years | Taiwan, March 2017

  1. Woo! I’m excited to read on 🙂

    It does look like you had an amazing time, and I’m always so proud when I speak about your trip planning skills 😉

    Taiwan ❤ home ❤

  2. 所有的旅行,在出發前都有一幅美麗的景像,在進行中,我們有時並不介意偏離我們的計劃;現在我們回憶、整理、紀錄,總是開心,我們又在一起過了一段美好的時光。就是要過好日子才對。

Leave a Reply

